Parent Information

Parent Information

We value positive relationships with parents and carers, because when we work together, children have better social and emotional skills, are more engaged in their learning and attend school more often, leading to better long term outcomes.

For parenting and counselling services, visit the Family Support page, and for direction and clarity on regulations, processes and procedures at our school, read the Sydney Catholic School policies.

Communication With Parents

Parents of St Martha’s Catholic Primary School Strathfield are encouraged to regularly check Compass for important information which will be continually updated.

Information and community news can be accessed through a fortnightly newsletter and Facebook.

To organise a time to meet with a teacher or for any concerns, you are welcome to call or send an email via the Contact Us form.

Parent Information Night

In Term 1, a parent information night is set aside to inform parents of classroom programming, management of the curriculum, homework expectations and parent assistance both at school and at home.

Experiencing Learning

Parents are invited to visit our classrooms throughout the year. Friends and relatives are welcome to attend our regular assemblies which are led by specific classes and showcase learning.

Technology

All classrooms are well equipped with iPads, in addition, Years 2–6 have access to Google Chromebooks. At St Martha’s, technology is a tool for learning which enables students to learn at their own pace. Teachers are able to assign work tailored to student skills and needs instead of relying on whole-class delivery of knowledge. It also bridges the gap between learning at school and learning at home.

BYOD (Bring your own device)

From 2020, St Martha’s will require all current Year 3 and any new students to the school in Years 3–6 to bring an Apple iPad for use at school and at home. Existing students in Year 3–6 will continue to use their Chromebooks, however they may also bring use an iPad.

Parents and Friends Association

Our Parents and Friends committee (P&F) aims to promote our community and foster a cooperative spirit among parents, teachers and students. The major goal of the P&F is ‘friend-raising’ rather than fundraising, although parents do raise funds to contribute generously to build our community resources.

The P&F committee supports the school by:

  • promoting Catholic education by welcoming parents, friends and staff members to be actively involved in the community
  • assisting in the provision of equipment and facilities in consultation with our principal
  • providing a forum for parents to raise and discuss issues within the school
  • organising hospitality for Grandparents’ Day and for Mother’s and Father’s Day Liturgies
  • fundraising each term for specific purposes.
2019
Term 1
Tue 29 Jan (Staff)
Wed 30 Jan (Students) – Fri 12 Apr
Term 2
Mon 29 Apr – Fri 5 Jul
Term 3
Mon 22 Jul – Fri 27 Sep
Term 4
Mon 14 Oct – Fri 20 Dec
2020
Term 1
Tue 28 Jan (Staff)
Wed 29 Jan (Students) – Thu 9 Apr
Term 2
Mon 27 Apr – Fri 3 Jul
Term 3
Mon 20 Jul – Fri 25 Sep
Term 4
Mon 12 Oct – Fri 18 Dec
Note: Please check staff development days with your school as dates will vary.
VISIT COMPASS
Download
View
View
Bitnami